A parallel universe: 25 years of the HIMSS Leadership Survey

September 16, 2014 in Medical Technology

Who knew 25 years ago where we’d be today?

Me, I was boarding a Greyhound bus in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada with two suitcases and a one-way ticket to start a new life in the United States. I had completed a graduate degree from Baylor University in Waco, Texas in 1988 and had moved back to Canada, where I was settling into a promising market research job. Then, my life took an interesting turn when I received a letter from the U.S. Consulate informing me that my application for permanent residency was selected.

I literally won the “immigration lottery.” So, there I was in late 1989, off to a “foreign” country to pursue my goal of pioneering in the field of healthcare market research… it was what I studied in graduate school, after all.

Who knew when I was boarding that bus, that a significant body of work which I now oversee was being birthed? In fact, 25 years ago, HIMSS commissioned the first annual survey of healthcare leaders working in this “new and exciting” field of information technology.

[Infographic: 25 years of health IT leadership]

So, when my staff and I recently reviewed the findings of the Annual HIMSS Leadership Survey from the last quarter century, it dawned on me that my “American” life, working in the healthcare industry, was reflected in the data of this annual survey… what an interesting walk down memory lane.

I started out in the early ’90s as a psych therapist in a Ft. Worth hospital where we had to “chart” on our patients. I was recognized by a Medicare reviewer as having one of the most legible handwritten notes she had ever seen. Imagine getting that compliment today.

Then, the only talk of electronic orders was orders the ward clerk put into the single computer we had on our floor. We were proud of the fact that she entered orders at least twice a shift.